Golden Lace Wyandotte: Rising Star

Gold Lace Wyandotte 4

It is funny how the chicks change and grow and how your attitude changes and grows as they do. Our first chicks consisted of a mystery chick, four gold lace Wyandotte chicks, and four assorted banties. At first the mystery chick was my favorite. She was easy to catch, gentle to hold, and always seemed to be interested in me as I gazed in wonder at their activity or was cleaning the brooder box. The banties were little, cute, and sweet. The GLW on the other hand didn’t like to be held, pecked at my hands, and wouldn’t stop struggling to get away. Needless to say, I didn’t like them very much in the beginning. I figured that these would be the last GLW I would ever buy.

Boy how things change! The GLW are now probably my favorite of all the breeds that I own so far. They are the ones that look to interact with me as I reach down to hand feed them or clean their space. They jump up on their feeder or water to get a better look when they see I am near. They are not as jumpy or skittish as the rest of the chicks. They indeed have turned out to be quite gentle, inquisitive, interactive, and beautiful! I will definitely always have the GLW in my flock and perhaps may settle on breeding them in the end.

Three of the four banties are still very sweet. One is rotten through and through! She doesn’t miss an opportunity to challenge the other chicks or nip at me when I hand feed the others. More and more I think of offering her to the neighbor or the stock pot! ๐Ÿ™‚

The mystery chick is still sweet and watches me with interest, but she never has even come close to eating from my hand. She likes me at a distance I guess. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

